Beautiful South Tourism Award Winners and Commended 2019/20 

Headline Sponsor The Grand Brighton www.grandbrighton.co.uk

 

ACCESS AND INCLUSIVITY AWARD

Sponsored by Tourism South East  www.tourismsoutheast.com

Winners

Gold - Wallops Wood Cottages, Droxford, Hampshire www.wallopswoodcottages.co.uk @Wallops_Wood

Silver - Mayflower Theatre, Southampton, Hampshire www.mayflower.org.uk @mayflower

Silver - Winchester Science Centre, Winchester, Hampshire www.winchestersciencecentre.org @WinSciCentre

Bronze - Wetwheels Solent, Portsmouth, Hampshire www.wetwheelssolent.co.uk @Wetwheelshq

Commended

Hovertravel, Ryde, Isle of Wight www.hovertravel.co.uk @HovertravelLtd

The Lightbox, Woking, Surrey www.thelightbox.org.uk @TheLightbox

 

BED AND BREAKFAST OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Bramley Products www.bramleyproducts.co.uk

Winners

Gold - Swan House B&B, Hastings, East Sussex www.swanhousehastings.co.uk @SwanHouse1066

Silver - The Courtyard at Wainhill, Chinnor, Oxfordshire www.wainhill.co.uk

@courtyard_at_wainhill

Bronze - 7 Longport, Canterbury, Kent www.7longport.co.uk @7Longportbnb

 

BUSINESS EVENTS VENUE OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by VisitBrighton www.visitbrighton.com

Winners

Gold - The Goodwood Estate, Chichester, West Sussex www.goodwood.com @Goodwood_Estate

Silver - Aviator, Farnborough, Hampshire www.aviatorhampshire.com @aviatorhants

Bronze - Careys Manor Hotel and SenSpa, Brockenhurst, Hampshire www.careysmanor.co.uk @careysmanor

Bronze - Solent Hotel and Spa, Fareham, Hampshire www.solenthotel.co.uk @SolentHotel

 

CAFÉ/TEAROOM OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by VisitBrighton www.visitbrighton.com

Winners

Gold - Bedgebury Cafe, Goudhurst, Kent www.bedgeburycafe.co.uk

Silver - Emirates Spinnaker Tower Clouds Cafe, Portsmouth, Hampshire www.spinnakertower.co.uk @SpinnakerTower

Bronze - Fresco DeliKafessen, Guildford, Surrey http://frescodelikafessen.com @frescodeliKafessen

Commended

The Cafe at Fishers Adventure Farm Park, Wisborough Green, West Sussex www.fishersfarmpark.co.uk @FishersFarmPark

 

CAMPING AND HOLIDAY PARK OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Tozers www.tozers.co.uk

Winners

Gold - Stubcroft Farm Campsite, Chichester, West Sussex www.stubcroft.com

Silver - Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park, Bembridge, Isle of Wight www.awayresorts.co.uk/whitecliff-bay @AwayResortsUK

Bronze - Sandy Balls Holiday Village, New Forest, Hampshire www.awayresorts.co.uk/sandy-balls @AwayResortsUK

Commended

Hoburne Bashley, New Forest, Hampshire www.hoburne.com @hoburneholidays

Hoburne Naish, New Forest, Hampshire www.hoburne.com @hoburneholidays

Mill Rythe Holiday Village, Hayling Island, Hampshire www.awayresorts.co.uk/mill-rythe @AwayResortsUK

 

CUSTOMER SERVICE SUPERSTAR AWARD

Sponsored by Welcome to Excellence www.welcometoexcellence.co.uk

Winners

Gold - Lorry Middleton – Hovertravel, Ryde, Isle of Wight

Silver - Jenny Bettger, Harry Boulter, Lorna Holmes and Joanna Wiege – Chichester Festival Theatre, Chichester, West Sussex

Silver - Jay Wood, Kim Baker, Mel Cowell and Kelly Shirodkar – The Gunwharf Quays Guest Services Team, Portsmouth, Hampshire

Bronze - Gary Falconer – Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa, Southampton, Hampshire

Bronze - Louise Moth – Solent Hotel & Spa, Fareham, Hampshire

Commended

David Sarbutts, Natalie Valentine and Mattaeus Assef – Blenheim Palace, Woodstock, Oxfordshire

 

DOG FRIENDLY BUSINESS OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Services For Tourism www.services4tourism.co.uk

Winners

Gold - The Best Log Cabin, Newdigate, Surrey www.bestlogcabin.co.uk

Silver - Shorefield Country Park, Milford-on-Sea, Hampshire www.shorefield.co.uk @ShorefieldHols

 

ETHICAL, RESPONSIBLE AND SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD

Sponsored by NFU Mutual www.nfumutual.co.uk

Winners

Gold - Marwell Wildlife, Winchester, Hampshire www.marwell.org.uk @Marwellwildlife

Silver - British Airways i360, Brighton, East Sussex www.britishairwaysi360.com @BA_i360

Bronze - Aviator, Farnborough, Hampshire www.aviatorhampshire.com @aviatorhants

Bronze - Mayflower Theatre, Southampton, Hampshire www.mayflower.org.uk @mayflower

Commended

Monkey Haven, Newport, Isle of Wight www.monkeyhaven.org @MonkeyIOW

 

EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR

Winners

Gold - Brighton & Beyond Tours, Brighton, East Sussex www.brightonbeyondtours.com @lawrencebbtours

Silver - Ringwood Brewery, Ringwood, Hampshire www.ringwoodbrewery.co.uk @RingwoodBrewery

Bronze - Phileas Foggs World of Adventures, Brighton, East Sussex www.phileasfoggsworldofadventures.co.uk @PhileasFoggWOA

Commended

Southampton Tourist Guide, Southampton, Hampshire www.southamptontouristguides.com @TourGuides1976

 

GLAMPING BUSINESS AND ALTERNATIVE ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Tozers www.tozers.co.uk

Winners

Gold - Toms Eco Lodge, Yarmouth, Isle of Wight www.tomsecolodge.com @TomsEcoLodge

Silver - Swallowtail Hill, Beckley, East Sussex www.swallowtailhill.com @swallowtailhill

Bronze - Kits Coty Glamping, Aylesford, Kent www.kitcotyglamping.co.uk @kitscotyglamp

Bronze - Sibbecks Farm Glamping, Whitwell, Isle of Wight www.sibbecksfarm.co.uk @SibbecksFarm

 

INTERNATIONAL TOURISM AWARD

Sponsored by Simpleview www.simpleviewinc.com

Winners

Gold - Blenheim Palace, Woodstock, Oxfordshire www.blenheimpalace.com @BlenheimPalace

Silver - Brighton & Beyond, Brighton, East Sussex www.brightonbeyondtours.com @lawrencebbtours

Bronze - Oxford Royale Academy, Oxford, Oxfordshire www.oxford-royale.com @OxfordRoyale

 

LARGE HOTEL OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Avon Data www.avondata.co.uk

Winners

Gold - The Goodwood Hotel, Chichester, West Sussex www.goodwood.com @Goodwood_Estate

Silver - Southampton Harbour Hotel, Southampton, Hampshire www.harbourhotels.co.uk/southampton @Southampton_HH

Bronze - Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel, Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire www.stokepark.com @StokePark

Commended

Best Western Chilworth Manor, Southampton, Hampshire www.chilworthmanorhotel.com  @BWChilworth

Burley Manor, New Forest, Hampshire www.burleymanor.com @Burley_Manor

Careys Manor Hotel and SenSpa, Brockenhurst, Hampshire www.careysmanor.com @careysmanor

 

LARGE VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Elavon www.elavon.com

Winners

Gold - Hever Castle & Gardens, Edenbridge, Kent www.hevercastle.co.uk @hevercastle

Silver - Leeds Castle, Maidstone, Kent www.leeds-castle.com @leedscastleuk

Silver - Marwell Wildlife, Winchester, Hampshire www.marwell.org.uk @Marwellwildlife

Bronze - The D-Day Story, Portsmouth, Hampshire www.theddaystory.com @TheDDayStory

Bronze - Bletchley Park, Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire www.bletchleypark.org.uk @bletchleypark

Commended

Odds Farm Park, Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire www.oddsfarm.co.uk @OddsFarmPark

 

NEW TOURISM BUSINESS AWARD

Sponsored by Hospitality Assured www.hospitalityassured.com

Winners

Gold - Leonardslee Lakes & Gardens, Horsham, West Sussex www.leonardsleegardens.co.uk @LeonardsleeG

Silver - Brighton & Beyond Tours, Brighton, East Sussex www.brightonbeyondtours.com @lawrencebbtours

 

PUB OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by LWC Drinks www.lwc-drinks.co.uk

Winners

Gold - The Baskerville, Henley on Thames, Oxfordshire www.thebaskerville.com @thebaskie

Silver - The Chaser Inn, Tonbridge, Kent www.thechaser.co.uk @thechaserinn

Bronze - The Running Horse Inn, Winchester, Hampshire www.runninghorseinn.co.uk @RunningHorseInn

Bronze - The Shoe, Exton, Hampshire www.theshoeexton.co.uk

Commended

The Cat Inn, West Hoathly, West Sussex www.catinn.co.uk @TheCatInn

The Swan, Farnborough, Hampshire www.swanfarnborough.com @swanfarnborough

The Wychwood Inn, Shipton-Under-Wychwood, Oxfordshire www.thewychwoodinn.com @WychwoodInn

 

RESTAURANT/BISTRO OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Signature Brands www.lwc-drinks.co.uk

Winners

Gold - The Dining Room at Gravetye Manor, East Grinstead, West Sussex www.gravetyemanor.co.uk @GravetyeManor

Silver - The Terrace Restaurant, Brockenhurst, Hampshire www.montaguarmshotel.co.uk/terrace_restaurant @themontaguarms

Bronze - Bel & The Dragon Windsor, Windsor, Berkshire www.belandthedragon-windsor.co.uk @belanddragon

Commended

Balmer Lawn Hotel Restaurant, New Forest, Hampshire www.balmerlawnhotel.com @balmerlawnhotel

Ovation Restaurant, Mayflower Theatre, Southampton, Hampshire www.mayflower.org.uk @mayflower

 

SELF CATERING ACCOMMODATION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Quality in Tourism www.qualityintourism.com

Winners

Gold - Wallops Wood Cottages, Droxford, Hampshire www.wallopswoodcottages.co.uk @Wallops_Wood

Silver - Heath Farm Holiday Cottages, Oxford, Oxfordshire www.heathfarm.com @heathfarmuk

Silver - The Best Log Cabin, Newdigate, Surrey www.bestlogcabin.co.uk

Bronze - The Mill House, Brighstone, Isle of Wight www.holidays2remember.co.uk

 

SMALL HOTEL OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Quality in Tourism www.qualityintourism.com

Winners

Gold - The Montagu Arms, Brockenhurst, Hampshire www.montaguarmshotel.co.uk @themontaguarms

Silver - Hurley House Hotel, Hurley, Berkshire www.hurleyhouse.co.uk @HurleyHouseH

Bronze - Hever Castle, Kent www.hevercastle.co.uk @hevercastle

Commended

Oakley Hall Hotel, Basingstoke, Hampshire www.oakleyhall-park.com @oakleyhall

The Five Arrows, Waddesdon, Buckinghamshire www.fivearrowshotel.co.uk

 

SMALL VISITOR ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Pear Communications www.pearcommunications.org

Winners

Gold - Monkey Haven, Newport, Isle of Wight www.monkeyhaven.org @MonkeyIOW

Silver - Oxford Castle and Prison, Oxfordshire www.oxfordcastleandprison.co.uk @OxfordCastle

Bronze - The Museum of English Rural Life, Reading, Berkshire https://merl.reading.ac.uk @TheMERL

Commended

Chiltern Open Air Museum, Chalfont St Giles, Buckinghamshire www.coam.org.uk @ChilternOAM

Gilbert White & The Oates Collections, Selbourne, Hampshire www.gilbertwhiteshouse.org.uk @GilbertWhites

 

SPA AND WELLBEING EXPERIENCE OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Jarrang www.jarrang.com

Winners

Gold - SenSpa, Brockenhurst, Hampshire www.senspa.co.uk @SenSpaUK

Silver - Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa, Newbury, Berkshire www.donningtonvalley.co.uk @donningtonhotel

Bronze - Solent Hotel and Spa, Fareham, Hampshire www.solenthotel.co.uk @SolentHotel

Bronze - Spa Illuminata Danesfield House, Marlow, Buckinghamshire www.danesfieldhouse.co.uk/spa @Danesfieldhouse

Commended

Eforea Spa at Hilton at the Ageas Bowl, Southampton, Hampshire www.ageasbowl.com/eforea-spa @eforeaspa

 

TOURISM EVENT/FESTIVAL OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by The Grand Brighton, www.grandbrighton.co.uk

Winners

Gold - Beaulieu Supercar Weekend, Brockenhurst, Hampshire www.beaulieu.co.uk/events/beaulieu-supercar-weekend @Beaulieu_Hants

Silver - Airbourne: Eastbourne International Airshow, Eastbourne, East Sussex www.eastbourneairshow.com @EB_Airshow

Silver - Experience Christmas at Kent Life, Maidstone, Kent www.kentlife.org.uk/event/meet-santa @Kent_Life

Bronze - Electric Woods at Robin Hill, Newport, Isle of Wight www.electricwoods.co.uk @RobinHillIW

Commended

Terror Island at Blackgang Chine, Ventnor, Isle of Wight www.terrorisland.co.uk @TerrorIslandUK

 

VISITOR INFORMATION SERVICE OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Avon Data www.avondata.co.uk

Winners

Gold - Eastbourne Tourist Information Centre, East Sussex www.visiteastbourne.com @Eastbourne_TIC

Silver - Oxford Visitor Information Centre, Oxfordshire www.experienceoxfordshire.org @ExperienceOx

Bronze - Petersfield Town Visitor Centre, Hampshire www.visitpetersfield.com @morePetersfield

 

WEDDING VENUE OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Clockwork Marketing www.clock-work.co.uk

Winners

Gold - Blenheim Palace, Woodstock, Oxfordshire www.blenheimpalace.com/hospitality/weddings/ @BlenheimPalace

Gold - Hever Castle and Gardens, Edenbridge, Kent www.hevercastle.co.uk/venue-hire/weddings/ @hevercastle

Silver - East Afton Farmhouse, Yarmouth, Isle of Wight www.eastaftonfarmhouse.com @TapnellFarm

Bronze - Solent Hotel & Spa, Fareham, Hampshire www.solenthotel.co.uk/weddings/ @SolentHotel